Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
| University Libraries
See Updates and FAQs for the latest library services updates.

MUSI 431: Music in History and Society III: World Music/Ethnomusicology

This guide is designed to assist students enrolled in MUSI 431 with research related to assigned topics.

Find Books at Mason

Search the Mason catalog for books. Hint: narrow your subject to music plus the name of a country, such as "music India."

 

You can also try the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) Catalog. Find a book you want from another library? Submit an interlibrary loan request here.

WorldCat - Search for books not in the Mason Libraries collection and submit an interlibrary loan request here.

Find Books Online

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Contains full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. View a tutorial on this database here.
  • Mason Catalog - Search electronic books by entering "electronic books" as the subject.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides developed by scholars and librarians worldwide to address a variety of subjects, including African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Criminology, Education, International Law, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Management, Music, Political Science, and Sociology. View a tutorial on this database here.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online - Offers review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic in a given subject area, and makes original arguments about the future direction of the debate. Cover the fields of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Linguistics, Music, Physics, and Political Science. View a tutorial on this database here.
  • Oxford Reference - Contains more than 300 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference works. View a tutorial on this database here.