Skip to main content

Special Collections Research Center: Citing Sources

SCRC is the unit within University Libraries charged with acquiring, documenting, preserving, and providing access to primary research collections and documents.

How to Cite Materials

The following examples show the preferred method of citation for materials in the Special Collections Research Center. Publishers may require different forms of citation, but regardless of the final citation format, please include the collection's title and number (e.g., The Federal Theatre Project personal papers #C0227) and a reference to the Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University.

 

Memorandum from Mona Blake, 17 May 1972, Box 2, Folder 8, in the Mary Anne Lecos papers #C0183, Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University Libraries.

From Board of Visitors Minutes January – April 1972, George Mason College Matters, Box 1, Folder 14, in the Board of Visitors Records #R0003, Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University Libraries.

From Jane Coutant Evans to Zelda Fichandler, 3 October 1988, Box 11, Folder 12, in the Zelda Fichandler papers #C0010, Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University Libraries.

From our prints and photographs collections:

President Nixon with singer Johnny Cash in the Oval Office, 26 July 1972, Box 21, Folder 7, in the Oliver F. Atkins photograph collection #C0036, Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University Libraries.

From our oral history collections:

Transcript of interview with Edwin B. Henderson by Ross Tucker, Negro Education – James Lee Elementary School, 13 June 1969, Box 1, Folder 49, in the Northern Virginia Oral History Project collection #C0030, Special Collections Research Center, George Mason University Libraries.

 

Zotero Training

Want to take a class on how to use Zotero in your research? Take a look at the IT Training website for dates, times, and locations. Sign up ahead of time or drop-in. To sign up, find the class listed on the site, and click the Register link. University Libraries also offers a variety of free, workshops for students, faculty, and staff on all Mason campuses.

Citation Styles

Which style should you use if your professor requires a specific style? Here is some guidance:

  • APA: psychology, education, and other social sciences.
  • MLA: literature, arts, and humanities.
  • AMA: medicine, health, and biological sciences.
  • Turabian: designed for college students to use with all subjects.
  • Chicago: used with all subjects in the "real world" by books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications.