InfoGuides: NCLC 102: Global Networks & Communities: Books

Catalogs

Search these catalogs to locate the books you need. Also included in the library catalog are videos, music, maps, government publications, e-books, and more!

Mason Libraries Catalog
Search for books, journal subscriptions and other resources held at George Mason University Libraries.
WRLC Catalog
Search American, Catholic, Gallaudet, Georgetown, GW, Marymount, UDC, & Mason libraries. Request needed items via Consortium Loan Service (CLS) link. Requests arrive within 2-3 days.
WorldCat
Online union catalog of books, journals, dissertations, audio-visual materials, and manuscripts in repositories worldwide.
Library of Congress Catalog
Catalog of bibliographic records for books, serials, music and sound recordings, cartographic and visual materials, computer files, manuscripts and more.

eBook Collections

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes the Biological and Medical Sciences Suite, the Physical Sciences Suite, and the Social Sciences Suite. Published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics and Financial Economics.
Tutorial for the Annual Reviews database.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
View a tutorial on this database here.
ENVIROnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to more than 130 handbooks in the environmental sciences. Subject areas include: earth science, ecology and ecological economics, environmental modeling and analysis, environmental and ecological risk assessment, environmental health and safety, environmental chemistry and toxicology, environmental engineering, geology, GIS, mapping and remote sensing, landscape ecology, resource management and sustainability, water science - technology and engineering.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic portal for publications of the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD). Included are books, reports, periodicals, and statistical publications with downloading capabilities. Tutorial for the OECD iLibrary database.

Reference Books

This list provides some examples of the types of reference sources you can find through the library. Reference sources are a great place to locate background information (terms, people, places, ideas) on your topic and may provide you with ideas for keywords for your other searches.

The Business of Food: Encyclopedia of the Food and Drink Industries
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of Global Change
The Food Encyclopedia : Over 8,000 Ingredients, Tools, Techniques, and People
Location: Fenwick Reference
Call Number: TX349 .R564 2006
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
The Penguin Atlas of Food
Location: Johnson Center Stacks
Call Number: HD9000.5 .M52 2003

REFERENCE DATABASES

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 300 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference works. Texts are updated after new editions of the print book are published. Tutorial for the Oxford Reference database.